
Fastmail
By Fastmail Pty Ltd, Australia
Paid email from Australian company Fastmail, with standard IMAP and JMAP access, Masked Email and custom domains on every plan.
At a glance
- Cheapest plan per year
- $60
- Individual, same price at renewal
- Your own domain from
- $60/yr
- Individual
- Works in Apple Mail and Outlook
- Yes
- Who can read stored mail
- The provider can
- Encrypted at rest with Fastmail-held keys
Good to know
- Fastmail holds the keys to your stored mail
Where it stands among 24
Each fact with every provider's answer. Fastmail is outlined.
Who can read your stored mail
The provider can
Only you 3
Only you, if switched on 4
The provider can 16
Not stated 1
Ads on the free plan
No free plan
Your own domain
On a personal plan
On a personal plan 12
Only on a business plan 3
Not offered 2
Works in Apple Mail and Outlook
Yes, standard IMAP
Yes, standard IMAP 17
Through a bridge app 1
No, its own apps only 3
Where the company is based
Australia
European Union 7
Switzerland or Norway 5
Elsewhere 4
Plans and prices
In USD, as listed by Fastmail on 2026-10-16.
Free
None
Individual
$60/yr
- People
- 1
- Storage
- 60 GB
- Own domains
- Included
- IMAP
- Yes
- Renews at
- Same price
50 GB mail plus 10 GB files. Own domains included; the number isn't stated. Multi-year discounts (24 and 36 months). The annual rate renews unchanged.
Family
$132/yr
- People
- 6
- Storage
- Not stated
- Own domains
- Included
- IMAP
- Yes
- Renews at
- Not stated
$11/month billed annually. Renewal not addressed for this plan.
Who can read your mail
- Provider can't read stored mail
- NoNo
- Subject lines encrypted
- NoNo
- Encrypted between its own users
- NoNo
- Encrypted mail to outsiders
- NoNo
- Built-in PGP
- NoNo
- Ads on the free plan
- No free planNo free plan
- Mail used for ads
- NoNo
- AI and your mail
- Says mail isn't used for ads, personalisation or AI training
Who you're trusting
- Owner
- Fastmail Pty Ltd
- Operating company
- Fastmail Pty Ltd
- Based in
- Australia
- Mail stored in
- United States, Netherlands
- Open-source apps
- NoNo
- Transparency report
- YesYes
- Latest audit
- None published
- Known incidents
- None found
Apps and features
- Web Yes
- iPhone Yes
- Android Yes
- Windows Yes
- macOS Yes
- Linux Yes
- Works in Apple Mail, Outlook, Thunderbird
- Yes, on every planYes, on every plan
- POP3
- YesYes
- Exchange ActiveSync
- Not statedNot stated
- Security key or passkey sign-in
- Not statedNot stated
- Authenticator-app 2FA
- YesYes
- Extra addresses
- Hundreds
- Hide-my-email aliases
- YesYes
- Catch-all for your domain
- YesYes
- Calendar
- YesYes
- Contacts
- YesYes
- File storage
- YesYes
- Sieve filters
- YesYes
- Scheduled send
- YesYes
- Undo send
- YesYes
- Import from Gmail or Outlook
- YesYes
- Export your whole mailbox
- Not statedNot stated
- Auto-forwarding
- YesYes
Where we recommend it
Best email provider for your own domain
Every plan includes your own domains, standard IMAP for any mail app, and Masked Email for sign-ups. Individual is $60 a year and the stated annual price renews unchanged. Fastmail can read stored mail, like most providers outside the encrypted ones.
Best email for families and households
Family is $132 a year for up to 6 people, each with their own mailbox, with your own domains, standard IMAP and shared calendars.
Best Gmail alternatives
The closest to Gmail without the ads or Google account: standard IMAP, own domains, Masked Email, calendar and contacts, from $60 a year. Fastmail can still read stored mail.
Compare Fastmail
Sources (10)
- Fastmail Help: privacyVendor, checked 2026-10-16
- Fastmail transparency reportVendor, checked 2026-10-16
- Research summary of the provider's pages (no single link)AI-assisted research, spot-checked, checked 2026-10-16
- Fastmail pricingVendor, checked 2026-10-16
- Fastmail blog: EU data regionVendor, checked 2026-10-16
- FastmailVendor, checked 2026-10-16
- Fastmail HelpVendor, checked 2026-10-16
- Fastmail featuresVendor, checked 2026-10-16
- Research summary of the provider's pages (no single link)AI-assisted research, spot-checked, checked 2026-10-16
- Fastmail developersVendor, checked 2026-10-16